Fluffy 100% Whole Wheat Cherry Almond Muffins

Wow, that’s a log title isn’t it?  But it makes a difference, doesn’t it?  I mean, we all struggle to find recipes for foods we like (#not healthy-tasting) that are in fact healthy, right?  I think that is especially true for breakfast foods — even more so for quick, grab-and-go breakfast foods!  That’s especially true with school back in swing. Easy breakfast items the kids look forward, leave minimal mess, and are portable. What’s not to love?!

Well, let’s be honest, those foods don’t typically come with “healthy” in the mix. One of my favorites in this category is muffins. Pretty much any flavor of muffin just gets me kinda giddy in the morning (and I’m NOT a morning person!).  So, when I committed to incorporating “healthy” into my cooking wherever possible…let’s just say my muffins were one item consistently falling off the wagon…until now :).

I have to give credit to the King Arthur Flour website as the inspiration for this recipe.  I started with their recipe for 100% Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins, which are to die for. It uses White Whole Wheat flour, which has all the fiber and nutrition of brown whole wheat but offers a much more delicate taste and texture. I reduced the amount of brown sugar to 2/3 cup and to my surprise and delight they baked up just as light and fluffy as any muffins made with white flour.  The recipe doesn’t call for an egg, which is great from a cholesterol standpoint.  I have added an egg on occasion, just to add in some protein, with equally great results.  They instantly became a favorite go-to muffin recipe.

Sigh…unfortunately the fam eventually started to get a little sick of having only Blueberry muffins, as I wasn’t making any of the old recipes I had been serving up over the years.  So, before relenting and going back to the old standbys, I did a little experimenting with the whole wheat recipe and came up with a couple of gems that we all like equally well.

The recipe I’m sharing with you today is my 100% Whole Wheat Cherry Almond Muffins.  These muffins are fluffy and sweet, and have a nice depth of unique flavor that I hope you enjoy as much as we do.  They’re topped with a sprinkling of Turbinado sugar that gives the top a sparkly presentation and delicate crunch.  I hope you’ll try them AND share your feedback as well.  Happy baking!

100% Whole Wheat Cherry Muffins
img_20160904_145108
Sugar topping makes it extra special

2 ¼ cups White Whole Wheat Flour
2/3 cup brown sugar
¾ tsp. sea salt
1 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. baking soda
½ tsp. ground cinnamon
1 cup dried Tart cherries
1 tsp. Vanilla extract
½ tsp. Almond extract

img_20160904_145254
All ready to start the day!

1/3 cup canola oil
1 ½ cups buttermilk (Whole, Low or Non-Fat)
1 Egg, optional
Turbinado Sugar or other course sugar, optional (I recommend Turbinado for best flavor)

  • Preheat oven to 400O; lightly grease muffin pan or line with paper baking cups.
  • Combine and whisk together first 6 ingredients.
  • Add tart cherries, tossing to coat, set aside.
  • In a separate bowl, combine and whisk together the buttermilk, oil and extracts (and egg, if using).
  • Pour wet ingredients into the dry ingredients, and stir just until combined.
  • Spoon batter into muffin cups, filling to nearly full (a heaping batter scoop amount)
  • Sprinkle tops with Turbinado sugar or other course sugar, if using
  • Bake at 400O for 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of a center muffin comes out clean.
  • Remove to a wire rack to cool.

Yield: 12 muffins

PRINT RECIPE: whole-wheat-cherry-muffins

Published by Lilliesgirl.com

Leave a Reply

