Easy Red Beans & ‘n Rice They’ll Ask For!

Good intentions sometimes aren’t enough to get the job done…sometimes life becomes more complicated than planned, and you just don’t have time to keep up with the things you intend to devote lots of time to.  Even things you’re passionate about can fall victim to the boss of busy-ness.  Lots of change has occurred since my last post, change that has stolen much of the time I had planned to put into maintaining a regular posting schedule.  SO, after this post, I’d love to hear back from any readers on whether I should care to keep the blog going or not.

You see, I’ve gone back to work full-time as a Real Estate Broker.  The idea of setting my own schedule and controlling my hours was a a bit of a delusion, but I am loving it just the same.  It’s a business I grew up around, have done in the past, and am feeling right about at this season of life.  BUT, I also love my blog and want to see it thrive.  So, let me know what you think — PLEASE!  Thanks in advance :).

Now, on to yummier things…

You know how I roll – easy, healthy meals that are big on flavor and easy to prepare.  And, just in case Lilliesgirl takes an undetermined hiatus, I think I should share a no-fail, save-the-day classic I don’t want you to miss.  This may be the most highly rated, most requested meal in my book.  I knew my family liked it.  I mean, it has smoked sausage in it, so it was a no-brainer for my crew.  It’s made with brown rice instead of white for more nutrients and fiber, and they love it anyway. Full of healthy carbs and rich, smokey goodness, each bite is an experience in flavor combustion.  Throw simplicity into the mix, and you have a classic they’ll ask for again and again.

Here’s what sealed the deal for me (other than my own family’s feedback and ease of prep for me).  One day I was nominated to make dinner for the Senior High youth group at our church – about 35 teens.  There was a good mix of guys and girls, along with the accompanying variety of taste preferences (or more importantly, taste aversions ;)).  I had heard the group was tired of carry out pizzas and taco bars so I asked Trip, the group leader, what I should make.  With him being a millennial fairly close in age to the kids I’d be feeding, I trusted his opinion on what might pass muster on Youth Group night.

Well, to my surprise, he requested what he called his favorite dish – “Mrs. Grube’s Red Beans and Rice”, and I couldn’t have been more relieved – one of the easiest, cheapest, yummiest meals possible!  So, off I went to the store to buy the ingredients for about 5x the usual quantity.  I used the church kitchen’s two stoves to cook up an adequate supply to feed 35 hungry teens, but the deed was done! I’m happy to report that all of it was consumed and several moms were sent by satisfied teens to request the recipe.  The next youth group meal was less easy – nothing beat the ease of that meal…except carry out!

So, without further adieu, here it is: Trip’s Easy Breezy Red Beans ‘n Rice.

Trip’s Easy Breezy Red Beans n’ Rice

1 ½ lbs. smoked sausage, cut into bite-sized pieces20170522_212324
1 medium onion, chopped
1 green bell pepper, chopped
1 large clove garlic, minced
2 (15 oz.) cans kidney beans, rinsed and drained
1 (15 oz.) can stewed tomatoes, undrained and chopped
½ tsp. dried oregano
½ tsp. ground black pepper
4 cups hot cooked brown rice

  • Cook sausage in a Dutch oven or large skillet over medium-high heat until browned and caramelized, stirring frequently.
  • Add onion, green pepper and garlic; cook until tender, stirring occasionally.
  • Stir in beans and next three ingredients.
  • Bring to a boil, cover, reduce heat and simmer 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Fold in rice.

PRINT: Trip’s Easy Breezy Red Beans n’ Rice

Yield 4 – 6 servings

Published by Lilliesgirl.com

Leave a Reply

